FISH ONLY fish with fins and scales are kosher. Fresh fish must be recognisable as being of a kosher species. Jewish law therefore forbids the use of fillets which do not have the scaled skin attached and are not recognisable as being from a kosher species unless a Rabbinic supervisor is present or the customer supervises the filleting of such fish. The supervisor should ensure that the knives and boards used are thoroughly clean before cutting commences. Should there be any doubt as to whether the fillets or cutlets have been cut with a clean knife, then the fish must be thoroughly washed in cold water before use. It is forbidden to purchase minced fish which has not been minced under the supervision of a Rabbinic supervisor.
FISH PASTES Fish Pastes are NOT ACCEPTABLE. They are usually mixed with non-kosher fish (e.g. shrimp) and contain animal fats. Caviar is NOT kosher. Only roe of kosher fish, e.g. salmon, are kosher when packed under reliable Rabbinic supervision.
|C||P||Anchovette||Product of South Africa. ONLY when bearing the South African Beth Din Logo|
|C||P||Fish Spread||Product of South Africa. ONLY when bearing the South African Beth Din Logo|
|C||P||Salmon Spread||ONLY when bearing Diamond KA Logo|
|C||P||Tuna Spread||ONLY when bearing Diamond KA Logo|
|C||P||All varieties||ONLY when bearing Adass Yisrael Logo|