Home arrow Consumer arrow Guide to Pesach arrow Pesach Product List

Pesach List

VEGETABLES

Of course all raw vegetables contain no chametz. However it is customary not to eat rice, maize (sweet corn) and leguminous (pulse) vegetables such as all beans and peas (including string beans) because of their similarity to the five grains (wheat, barley, oats, rye and spelt) which are actual chametz. These are called “KITNIYOT” (This custom is not widely practised amongst Sephardim - ask your rabbi for guidance. See Kitniyot section). Fresh raw vegetables must be thoroughly checked for insects. Many companies provide cut and peeled vegetables or washed salad vegetables. These should not be used without reliable investigation as potentially chametz anti-oxidants such as citric acid are often added to the wash water. Preservatives such as sodium metabisulphate are kosher for Pesach.
FRESH CUT VEGETABLES
HEMP SEED
QUINOA
VEGETABLE WASH
Advertisement Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement